Skip to content
October 13, 2009 / chelledonohue

Dear Pri,

Just sitting here in Cheryl’s room, helping her with homework. Been thinking about you a lot, wishing we could hang out. I miss you sis. It would be so kool if you were here, if all us girls could go out for drinks, (and of course, hot chips). I’m thinking about you all the way over there, and the fact that we didn’t really get to say a proper goodbye. I told you I’d be there in a bit, and that we’d navigate the new country together. It was a promise when I said it, and I’m sorry I haven’t kept it yet. I was sad thinking of not seeing you for a few weeks, and now it’s been months.

Anyways, I miss you a lot, and realize that I got addicted to having you there these last five years. We did some crazy things!! Remember dancing in our first typhoon?? The wind was blowing the rain sideways, and we laughed. Other people huddled under their umbrella’s and we sang at the top of our lungs. Branches fell from the trees and we skipped in our high-heels. Drivers pulled over and cowered undercover and we shook our heads while our long hair got soaked. People worried about acid rain and we foolishly drank in the raindrops. Lightning and thunder struggled across the sky but we shouted louder. And then, having narrowly escaped drowning, we walked into Starbucks and offhandedly drenched the entire store. After which we drank cold coffee and laughed some more.

People don’t get it and we seriously don’t care. We’re just sisters and we like that. It’s ok that we’re best friends, and it’s perfectly fine that we don’t have an explanation. Well, I could go on and on about how it’s because you’re crazy fun, well read, stunning, smart, incredibly talented, kind to a fault, insanely loyal, (and tall, let’s not forget tall). But truthfully, honestly, behind all the why’s and the wherefore’s, and looking far past the fact that you make me look good (!), it’s because you are real. You are a solidly real person. And in this crazy time of people who poke and prod and photoshop themselves into asexual mannequins that live mostly online, it’s refreshing to find a slice of Audrey Hepburn pie in the mix. A girl who will wear hipster jeans and flats out clubbing, because she really is going to dance for oh, 500 hours, and might even dance up on the bar. Who, after the party is over, will trek all the way home, across town, in the wee hours of the morning, just because she has the common sense to sleep in her own bed. Who thinks Dumas is a good read as opposed to, oh let’s say, Cecily von Ziegesar. Who knows all the words to my favorite Andy Williams song, and will sing it with me on the subway. Who’s idea of make up is lipgloss. Who always remembers everyone’s birthdays – and I do mean everyone!

I love you sis. I miss you. Just thought I’d say so. And yes, I was planning a major post for your birthday, but then “stuff” happened, and all I could do was call you and hear your voice and laugh about your antics and never-ending handsome admirers. If I could ask for one thing for you in this year, it would be that you stay you. Always.

Tons of love, ‘chelle XXX

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Joyce / Oct 14 2009 12:36 pm

    HEY! I get it plenty fine!
    And I admire you, Pi…too much sometimes!
    It really IS a never-ending line, you know?

  2. Prister / Oct 18 2009 4:28 am

    Aww…now you’ve darn gone and made me cry! Gosh sis, I do miss you heaps, and I’m deeply cut that we never got our goodbye. It was only meant to be 20 days, and now I don’t even know when I’ll see you again. I hope it’s soon and that in the meantime you’re safe and happy and finally able to use your beautiful voice in some way. You’re one of my heroes sis and I do miss you here every day. Hoping that we get to live together again someday soon. I do remember dancing in the rain, screaming at the top of our lungs at the lizard on the wall, and much more. I’m glad that we’re sisters and even gladder that we’re friends. 🙂

Leave a Reply

